Announcing the 2012 SPA Finalists

    We are very excited to announce the finalists for the 2012 LUCEO Student Project Award. The internal selection committee was comprised of David Walter Banks, Kendrick Brinson and Kevin German. The final judging by our prestigious jury will take place on Thursday, June 7 from 11AM-2PM, at LOOK3, The Festival of the Photograph. The judging is open to the public, though the name of the winner will be withheld until the public announcement at LOOK3 on Friday, June 8. The address for the judging is 200 Garrett Street, Charlottesville, VA. You can learn more about the Student Project Award and other LUCEO events at LOOK3 including The Hunt by visiting our festival site at LUCEO@LOOK3

    We feel humbled by the quality and diversity of work submitted this year. Without further ado, we would like to present to you this year’s finalists in alphabetical order (by last name): 

    Ian Bates, Ohio University, USA

    Marianne Byornmyr, London College of Communication, UK

    Jared Hamilton, Western Kentucky University, USA

    Leonard Pongo, le 75, Belgium

    Laerke Posselt, Danish School of Journalism, Denmark

    Naty Rios, Roberto Mata School of Photography, Venezuela

    Vilhelm Stokstad, Nordens Fotoskola, Sweden

    Nicholas Venaglia, City College of San Francisco, USA

    Fabian Weiss, London College of Communication, UK

    Alena Zhandarova, IED Madrid, Spain/Russia